Breaking News Bar

Saline County election results

updated: 4/5/2017 10:49 PM

Harrisburg Township: Democrat Danny Clayton appears to have been elected supervisor of Harrisburg Township Tuesday night over Republican Jimi Williams-Cox. Unofficial vote totals are Clayton 613 and Williams-Cox, 438. For road commissioner, Republican Bob Holmes defeated Democrat Danny Gibbs, 575 votes to 499. The four top vote-getters for township trustee seats were Republican Roger Craig, 633; Democrat Roger Angelly with 622; Republican Steve Horn, 514 and Democrat Tim Mitchell, with 412.

East Eldorado Township: Larry D. Phelps and the Democrats made a clean sweep of township offices Tuesday night. Phelps was elected supervisor over Republican Brandi N. Pemberton, 834 to 344 votes, according to unofficial totals from Saline County. In other Democratic victories Johnny Bob James beat Janie J. Boulds for township clerk, 242847 to 341 votes; Greg McKinney won for road commissioner over Kevin P. Boulds, 841 to 357; and Steven D. Nelson, Billy Bradley, Josh Griffin and Bill Kittinger were elected township trustees over Carolyn Boulds, Hal M. Butler, Wade H. Pemberton and Sue Yates. Unofficial totals are: Nelson, 650; Bradley, 795; Kittinger, 613; Griffin, 732; Yates, 451; Carolyn Boulds 323, Pemberton 280 and Butler 215.

Rector Township: With all the votes counted Tuesday, Republican Brenda Cook was elected supervisor of Rector Township over Democrat Clarence F. Jones, 12 votes to 10. Meanwhile, Democrats Tammy Porter and Robert Crouse were elected township trustees with 14 votes each; and Republicans Mike Suits, Penny Talkington and Donna Suits plus Democrat Vicki Crouse all tied with 11 apiece.

Village of Muddy: Max Molinarolo, Dean Abraham and Jenniffer Smith were elected to the Muddy Village Board Tuesday night. The unofficial vote totals from Saline County are Abraham with 11 votes, Molinarolo and Smith with 10 votes apiece, and Frances Bertino with seven.

Carrier Mills: Besides the mayoral race, the position of village clerk was contested. Carleen M. Sanderson won over Cindy Murphy, 198 to 115 votes. Geoffrey Absher, Derek Field and Jennifer Oneal were top vote-getters for 4-year village trustee spots. Absher had 215 votes; Field had 196; and Oneal got 143. For the two-year unexpired term position, Greg Prince won over Shannon Rone with 169 votes to 142.

Galatia: David Harrawood won the mayoral contest over Chris Ferrell, 113 votes to 102. The top three elected individuals for village trustee were Benny L. Hankins with 161 votes; David Grant with 117; and James Stalcup with 115.

Galatia Township: In the contested road commissioner contest, Democrat Ricky D. Pritchett won over David Moore 145 to 111 votes.

Galatia School Board: Elaine Jackson, with 225 votes, and Robert J. Pigg (B.J.) with 211 votes, took two of the spots, with a write-in candidate earning another spot with 43 votes.

Raleigh: In the mayoral race, Paul Bishop won with 36 votes over a write-in candidate who tallied 35. In the four-year term for village trustee race, Rex Harbison, Jean Ellis and Athel Wiseman won with 52, 46 and 38 votes respectively. A write-in candidate garnered 14 votes for an unexpired two-year term. In addition, a voter question whether to make the village clerk an elected position instead of an appointed one was an overwhelming "yes" answer, with 66 voting yes and 13 voting no.

Raleigh Township: In the race for four township trustee spots, Republican Ron Ellis led the pack with 115 votes. The other three top vote-getters were Democrat Jack Whitlock with 108; Republican Ryan Harbison with 96; and Republican Willard Prather with 92.

Search Carbondale Times