Breaking News Bar

Bittle, Norman highlight 2A All-South selections

  • Harrisburg senior Andrew Bittle was one of four Class AA golfers to be named All South.

    Harrisburg senior Andrew Bittle was one of four Class AA golfers to be named All South.

By Spyder Dann
updated: 1/19/2021 3:54 PM

A pair of local boy golfers and two girl golfers from Marion were four of the 20-plus selections for All-South, which were recently announced.
Benton's Cy Norman, the Golfer of the Year as announced by The Southern Illinoisan was named to the 2A All-South squad, along with Harrisburg's Andrew Bittle.
Also on that same 2A team were Carbondale's Ian Davis and Centralia's Sam Beggs.
Norman, who made All-South as a freshman last season, finished first at the IHSA Centralia Sectional, shooting a 68 and took first at the IHSA Carbondale Regional, firing a 66.
Norman took home medalist honors in every match and tournament of the season, finishing first with a 72 at the Southern Illinois River-To-River Ohio Golf Tournament. His 18-hole average was a 69 and had a 32 average for nine holes.
Bittle, a senior, had a scoring average of 40.43 and shot an 86 at the SIRR conference tournament. He added a 79 at the 2A regional and 86 at the Centralia Sectional. His best round of the season was a 32 in a match against Carterville.
Capel, like Norman, was named the Golfer of the Year by The Southern took home medalist honors at the Marion Regional after shooting a 74 and was 12th overall at the Champaign Sectional with an 82.
Capel shot a 82 at the South 7 Conference Tournament at Green Hills Country Club in Mt. Vernon.
Kelley took home medalist honors at the South 7 Tournament in helping lead Marion to a third straight title. The junior shot an 81 at green hills and had an 80 at the Marion Regional, while finishing in a tie for 18th with an 84 at the Champaign Sectional.

Spyder Dann covers prep and college sports for the Southern Illinois LOCAL Media News Group. Follow him on Twitter: @spydieshooter.

Class A Boys
Ty Barbre Carmi White
Avery Irwin Belleville Althoff
Max Bruening Belleville Althoff
Parker Bruening Belleville Althoff
Jarrett James Chester
Tyson Elko West Frankfort
A.J. Johnson Goreville
Luke Lasley Anna Jonesboro
Class A Girls
Chloe Kraus Okawville
KaCee Fulkerson Carmi White
Kaden Carter Carmi White
Abrahm Neal Hamilton County
Kylee Vaughan Hamilton County
Kylie Bunselmeyer Trico
Lily Conkle Massac County
Elise Coakley Massac County
McKinnley Korte Massac County
Alexis Frazine Massac County
Josie Walker Massac County
Olivia Quigley Marissa
Annie Shin Carbondale
Marlee Smith Anna Jonesboro

Class AA Boys
Ian Davis Carbondale
Sam Beggs Centralia
Cy Norman Benton
Andrew Bittle Harrisburg
Class AA Girls
Baylee Kelley Marion
Sarah Capel Marion