Breaking News Bar

Bulldog Trio named to SIRR Ohio All-Conference Team

  • Madeline Rider (left), Brooke Meylor (center) and Karsyn Davis (right) were all named to the SIRR Ohio All-Conference Team.

    Madeline Rider (left), Brooke Meylor (center) and Karsyn Davis (right) were all named to the SIRR Ohio All-Conference Team.
    Spyder Dann |

By Spyder Dann
updated: 2/28/2019 1:30 PM

The postseason awards keep coming in for area local athletes.

Recently, Harrisburg's Karsyn Davis was named to the Second Team of the Class 2A Illinois Basketball Coaches Association All-State Team, this after Davis was named to the 2A Illinois All-State Honorable Mention Team.

Davis' teammate and outgoing senior guard Brooke Meylor was named to the IBCA All-State Honorable Mention Team and just last week, Davis and Meylor, along with teammate Madeline Rider were named to the Southern Illinois River-To-River Ohio All-Conference Team.

Davis was named to All-Tournament Teams at Harrisburg, Benton and Eldorado this past year and she led the Bulldogs in scoring, averaging 14 points per game and 10 rebounds per game. Davis, was a 1,000 point scorer and has signed with Southeast Missouri State to play softball.

Meylor, who has verbally committed to play basketball at Southeastern Illinois College this upcoming fall, Meylor averaged 13 points per game and six rebounds per game and was All-Tournament at Harrisburg and Benton.

Rider, who has signed to play softball at Western Kentucky University, was just under averaging double figures this season. Rider averaged nine points per game and six rebounds per game.

Defensively, Rider was Harrisburg's top overall defender, usually given the task of guarding every team's best player and she was second on the team in steals.

All three were influential in Harrisburg's No. 1 ranking in the Associated Press poll earlier this year and helped the Bulldogs to a third straight (fourth overall) regional title and a 28-6 record.

Benton, who won this year's SIRR Ohio Conference title also put three players on the All-Conference team, including Many Wallace, Addisyn Miller and Ember Milby.

Murphysboro was represented by Madison Lawrence and Island Dooley, while Herrin's Layla Wade and Massac County's Farrah Castleman rounded out the list.

On the Mississippi side, the Carterville trio of Jeniah Thompson, Abbey Crain and Megan Barton were joined by the Nashville trio of Rylee Luechtefeld, Libby Ahlers and Alyssa Cole, along with Anna-Jonesboro's Angel Helm and Mikayla Burden.

Du Qoin's Katie Smith and Pinckneyville's Megan Breslin rounded out the Mississippi side.

IBCA All-State Team

Chester's Destiny Williams joined Davis on the IBCA 2nd Team.

Williams was named Most Valuable Player of the Black Diamond West All-Conference Team and was the only player from Chester represented al the BDC West All-Conference Team.

Sami McCowen (Sesser-Valier) and Libby Ahlers (Nashville) were each named to the Third Team, while Anna Miller (Hamilton County), Rylee Luechtefeld (Nashville), Haleigh Keeling (Vienna), Mackenzie Conrad (Fairfield), Kaleigh Dodson (Hamilton County), Alyssa Jones (Vienna), Addison Bent (Vienna) and Madison Hout (Edwards County) were all named to the Honorable Mention Team.

Spyder Dann covers prep and college sports for the Southern Illinois Local Media News Group. Follow him on Twitter: @spydieshooter.