Breaking News Bar

IHSA announces basketball post season sites

  • The IHSA announced postseason sites for both girl and boys' basketball. Brackets for the regionals will be released after the first part of 2019.

    The IHSA announced postseason sites for both girl and boys' basketball. Brackets for the regionals will be released after the first part of 2019.

By Spyder Dann
updated: 12/18/2018 9:09 AM

The Illinois High School Athletic Association (IHSA) released its regional and sectional sites for the upcoming basketball postseason.

In Class 1A, Gallatin County and Altamont will host Sectionals, that will feed into the Carbondale (SIU) Super-Sectional.

In Sub-Sectional A, Sesser-Valier and Wayne City will host regionals, that will include Webber Township, Christopher, Elverado, Galatia, Grayville, NCOE, Steeleville, Thompsonville, Waltonville, Wayne City, Woodlawn and Zeigler-Royalton.

In the sub-Sectional B, Hardin County and Goreville will host Regionals, that will include, Cairo, Carrier Mills-Stonefort, Cobden, Dongola, Pope County, Joppa, Gallatin County, Crab Orchard, Meridian, Egyptian, Century and Shawnee.

In Class 2A, the two Sectional sites that will feed into the SIU Super-Sectional will be Du Quoin and Vandalia.

In the Du Quoin Sub-Sectional A, Carylye and Piasa (Southwestern) will host Regionals, that will include, Alton (Marquette), Dupo, Gillespie, Greenville, Hillsboro, Litchfield, Nashville, Staunton and Trenton (Wesclin).

In the Sub-Sectional B for Du Quoin, Anna-Jonesboro and Chester will host Regionals that will include, Trico, Du Quoin, Johnston City, Pinckneyville, Red Bud, Sparta, Vienna, West Frankfort.

In the Vandalia Sub-Sectional A, Effingham (St. Anthony) and Shelbyville will play host to two Regionals, that will include, Casey-Westfield, Marshall, Newton, Pana, Robinson, Sullivan, Teutopolis, Toledo (Cumberland) and Vandalia.

In the Sub-Sectional B, both Harrisburg and Mt. Carmel will play Regional hosts with teams coming from, Edwards County, Red Hill, Carmi-White County, Eldorado, Fairfield, Flora, Lawrenceville and Hamilton County.

In Class 3A, The Super-Sectional will be held at the Bank of Springfield Center and will include the Mascoutah and Springfield (Southeast) Sectional winners.

A majority of southern Illinois teams reside in the Mascoutah Sectional, where Freeburg and Massac County will host Regionals that include, Belleville Althoff, Cahokia, Carbondale, Carterville, Columbia, Herrin, Marion, Mascoutah, Murphysboro and Waterloo.

In the Sub-Sectional B, Breese Central and Salem will be host Regional sites and include teams from, Benton, Bethalto Civic Memorial, Breese Mater Dei, Centralia, East St. Louis, Highland, Mt. Vernon, Roxana, Troy (Triad) and Wood River East Alton.

On the girls' side, Salem will be the host site for this year's Class 1&2A Super-Sectional.

In Class 1A, Moweaqua Central A&M and Steeleville will be Sectional sites and in the A&M Sub-Sectional A, Farina (South Central and Palestine will host Regionals, which will include teams from Altamont, Brownstown, Cowden-Herrick, Dieterich, Effingham St. Anthony, Lousiville North Clay, Oblong and Ramsey.

In the Sub-Sectional B, Arcola and Okaw Valley will be the two Regional sites and include, Cerro Gordo, Chrisman, Hume Shiloh, Martinsville, Neoga, Nokomis and Strasburg-Stewardson.

In the Steeleville Sub-Sectional A, Elverado and New Athens will be Regional sites and include, Christopher, Cobden, Galatia-Thompsonville, Marissa, Steeleville, Valmeyer, Waterloo Gibault and Wolf Lake.

In the Sub-Sectional B, Pope County will be one regional site, while either Cairo, Dongola, Goreville, Joppa, Gallatin County, Meridian, Egyptian or Century will be the other site.

In Class 2A, Red Bud and Tuscola will be the two Sectional sites that feed into the Salem Sectional.

In Red Bud Sub-Sectional A, Vienna and Wayne City will be Regional hosts and will include Anna-Jonesboro, Carmi-White County, Du Quoin, Eldorado, Fairfield, Harrisburg, Johnston City, Hamilton County and West Frankfort.

In the Sub-Sectional B, Trico and Trenton-Wesclin are the two Regional sites that include, Belleville Althoff, Trico, Carlyle, Chester, Dupo, Nashville, Pinckneyville, Red Bud, Sesser-Valier and Sparta.

The Class 3A Super-Sectional has yet to be determined, as has the Sectional site that includes most teams from southern Illinois.

Benton and Carbondale have been named two Regional sites and will include teams from, Carterville, Centralia, Herrin, Marion, Massac County, Mt. Vernon, Murphysboro, Olney Richland County and Salem.

In the Sub-Sectional B, Breese Mater Dei and Waterloo are two Regional sites that include, Breese Central, Cahokia, Columbia, East St. Louis, Effingham, Freeburg, Highland, Mascoutah and Troy (Triad).

The brackets for the girls' regionals will be released at 4 p.m. on January 25th. The brackets for the boys' regionals will not be posted until the afternoon on February 8.

Spyder Dann covers prep and college sports for the Southern Illinois Local Media News Group. Follow him on Twitter: @spydieshooter.