Breaking News Bar

Steeleville cross country holds awards banquet

  • Members of the Steeleville boys and girls cross country teams are pictured.

    Members of the Steeleville boys and girls cross country teams are pictured.
    Courtesy of Steeleville High School

Herald Tribune staff report
updated: 11/22/2017 2:38 PM

The Steeleville High School cross country teams recently celebrated their 2017 season with the traditional end-of-year awards banquet.

Senior Taylor Dagner took home Team MVP honors on the girls' side, while sophomore Logan Fulkerson was named Team MVP for the boys' side.

Dagner ran in 14 races this year and earned Cahokia Conference Kaskaskia Division All-Conference and All-South honors. She led the Lady Warriors with 85 team points.

Dagner's time of 18:47 at the Benton Sectional broke the school record of 20:48 held by Taylor Creamer at 2016's New Athens regional.

Freshman Morgan Creamer was the girls' team No. 2 runner with 69 team points, running in 15 races and qualifying for the Benton Sectional, where she placed 74th out of 150 runners. She also earned the team's Academic Award with a perfect 4.0 grade point average during the school's first quarter.

Josie Raby, Kylie Ernsting and Shealyn Conway - in addition to Creamer and Dagner - all earned varsity letters for Steeleville.

On the boys' side, Fulkerson ran in all 17 races and finished in the top 10 of both the Carterville Regional (sixth) and Benton Sectional (ninth) to earn a spot in the IHSA Class 1A state meet at Detweiller Park in Peoria.

Fulkerson finished 90th at state with a time of 16:24.

The Warriors' sophomore earned All-Conference and All-South honors and contributed to the team score in every race, finishing with 95 team points. He set a new regular season course record at Benton with a time of 15:30.

Steeleville's No. 2 runner with 92 team points was Gavin Conway, who also earned All-Conference and All-South honors and finished 127th at the state meet. The junior finished fifth at the Carterville Regional and ninth at the Benton Sectional to earn his spot at state.

His time of 15:36 at the Benton Sectional beat the school record of 15:40.

Like Fulkerson, A.J. Stearns and Jacob Fedderke, Conway also contributed to Steeleville's score at every race and earned a team Academic Award.

Stearns was Steeleville's No. 3 runner with 70 team points and also earned All-Conference and All-South honors. He finished 14th at the Benton Sectional and missed qualifying for state by one place.

Stearns also won an Academic Award.

Jacob Fedderke, one of only two seniors on the team, was Steeleville's No. 4 runner with 37 team points. He finished 22nd at the Carterville Regional as the fourth man and 75th at the Benton Sectional as the fifth man.

Junior Owen Gross was the Warriors' No. 5 runner and earned All-Conference honors with an eighth place finish, placing 26th at the Carterville Regional as the fifth man.

Also earning varsity letters, in addition to those stated above, were freshman David Coleman and junior Connor Warhausen. Drake Smith, Robbie Axtell, Luke Bartens and Ray Dagner all earned participation certificates.